Real Correction

freedom3Image from http://normansennema.com/archives/2214

Have you ever thought, “What is a jail really supposed to do?”  I mean it is called a Correction Institution isn’t it? So then why are there so many repeat offenders? Why do so many of these men and women after serving time in jail, get out and go back to doing what got them in jail in the first place. We leave it up to the government to take care of the inmates and they are supposed to come out better. But they don’t, why? Well I believe the right measures aren’t being taken.

Let me start by saying that I hate crime, I believe that if you have done the crime you deserve the time. I hate to hear on the news all the sorrow that is going on in the world with robbers, rapist, murders, just to name a few. It makes me sad and if you know me well then you know I can’t stand to hear things like these.

So when I first heard of a prison ministry at my church, I at first to be honest thought “Why?” I mean why should we put the time in them and try to speak the truth to them; they are robbers, rapist, and murders. Let the government deal with that, I already pay taxes that goes into the jails. Well the Lord showed me how he feels, and wow did it open my eyes.

Today at church our pastor came out and introduced our Outreach ministry lead pastor, Pastor Chet, and I to be completely honest thought “oh great our pastor isn’t going to speak today” and I thought service was not going to be good. Well God knows how to get my attention. He started to talk about all the ministries we had going on around the world, India, North Africa, and Bahamas just to name a few. I was sitting down and I was amazed how much our church does. So then he started to talk about the Prison Ministry, and explained to us that we in Christ are Free. Free of the bondage that the world had on us before we knew Jesus. In Jesus we do not have to do things the world’s way, our chains are broken. It is best summed up here, Galatians 5:13-15 (The Message)

“It is absolutely clear that God has called you to a free life. Just make sure that you don’t use this freedom as an excuse to do whatever you want to do and destroy your freedom. Rather, use your freedom to serve one another in love; that’s how freedom grows. For everything we know about God’s Word is summed up in a single sentence: Love others as you love yourself. That’s an act of true freedom. If you bite and ravage each other, watch out—in no time at all you will be annihilating each other, and where will your precious freedom be then?”

Do you see it? Our freedom is not to be taken lightly; we need to use this freedom to serve one another in Love. Our Prison ministry writes letters to men and women in Jail, and in the letters it talks about the Truth, the Truth of Jesus.  So Pastor Chet gave us all an envelope with a name and Address in the front, and a letter inside reading about the Truth of Jesus. Then he had us write the name from the front of the envelope on the letter next to where it says “Dear” we sealed the envelope with the letter inside, and then we prayed for these names on all the envelopes, praying that God would work in their hearts and change them, give them freedom from their past, and let them realize they need change real change the kind that only a savior can do Jesus!

See these people in jail they might have done terrible things, rape, kill just terrible things, but that doesn’t mean they can’t change their life, that doesn’t mean they cant be saved from the bondage  and the evil of this world.  My eyes were opened, how selfish was I to believe that these people didn’t need this, didn’t need to hear the truth. I am so grateful I was at church this Sunday to hear that message it has made me see more of the love that God  has for each and everyone of us.  A Change is what these Inmates need a change like I said before only Jesus can give.  I just wish I remembered the name on my envelope, so I could read about the person and see in a couple of months or years to see if that letter changed their life.  I really hope it does…

Real Correction

3 thoughts on “Real Correction

  1. Your Love says:

    Babe that is so true! I know I am also guilty of being selfish in my actions and thoughts. God has opened our eyes, and the eyes of many today in church! Great blog….xoxo

  2. Awesome challenge bro! Before reading this blog, I was getting ready to get all political with prisions and stuff to leave you a comment supporting your beliefs, but to be honest, you actually spoke to me through what you had said! God works in great ways. It seems as though your church is doing great things for the world, and that is a good site to see.

    Keep up the good work, brother!

    -Ken

  3. La Jebita says:

    Great Blog, I truly believe if anyone open they heart and ask our father to let the holy spirit work on us, it happens, as humans I am guilty of judging when something bad happens, until I come to my senses and put things in god’s hand. God Bless you and bless everything you touch.

    La Jebita.

Leave a Reply

